ATAG Grant

Amphibian Taxon Advisory Group Grant

To date, the ATAG has awarded over $30,000 for a variety of amphibian conservation and research programs.   The application cycle, application, and past awards are listed below.


The ATAG Grant Application is now available HERE .  Deadline for applications is Friday, 27 March 2019.  Instructions for application are available on the application, please follow accordingly.

ATAG Past Grant Recipients:


Margaret Rousser, Conservation Manager, Conservation Society of California/Oakland Zoo: “Headstarting and Reintroduction of Rana muscosa to Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.” Awarded $2,000


Kristin Hinkson, Research Technician,Memphis Zoo: “Genetic Comparisons between Captive and Natural Dusky Gopher Frog (Lithobates sevosus) Populations.”  Awarded $1000.00

Lacy Rucker, Graduate Research Assistant (Ph.D. Student), West Virginia University: “The Impacts of Climate Change on the Growth, Survival, and Competition of Terrestrial Salamanders in Central Appalachia.”  Awarded $1000.00


Susan Lyndaker Lindsey, Ph.D., Mesker Park Zoo and Botanic Garden:  “Indiana’s first captive breeding program for the Eastern hellbender.”  Awarded $1000

Stephen Nelson, Zoo Knoxville: “Description of a new species of waterdog (Necturus sp.) from Tennessee.” Awarded $1000


Kiley Buggeln, Hutchinson Zoo: “Dusky Gopher Frog Initiative.”  Awarded $2,000

Gustavo Ernesto Quintero Diaz, Universidad Autónoma de Aguascalientes: “Reproduction ex situ of Smilisca dentata and Lithobates neovolcanicus.” Awarded$2,000.


Dr. Michael Lannoo, Indiana University School of Medicine: “Developing Repatriation Techniques for Crawfish Frogs (Lithobates areolatus) in Reclaimed Grasslands.”  Awarded $538.00.

Dr. Michael Lannoo, Indiana University School of Medicine: “Can Captive-reared Tadpoles Re-establish Crawfish Frog Populations?” Awarded $600.00.

Michelle Moses, Sunset Zoo: “Puerto Rican Crested Toad Captive Breeding Program.” Awarded $885.00.


Dr. Corinne Richards-Zawacki, Tulane University: “Rays of Hope: Identifying factors mediating the survival of Panamanian golden frog populations.” Awarded $1,000.

Jessi Bushell, San Francisco Zoo: “Head-starting Sierra Nevada Yellow-Legged Frogs, Rana sierra, for Conservation Initiatives in the Lake Tahoe Basin, California.” Awarded $1,678.


Katherine Baumberger, California State University: “Home range and habitat preference of the western spadefoot toad (Spea hammondii) in Orange County Protected Areas.” Awarded $1,000.

Dan Costell, Lowry Park Zoo: “Increasing capacity at the Lowry Park Zoo for Puerto Rican crested toad reintroductions.” Awarded $1,000.


Amy McMillan, Buffalo State College: “Conservation Genetics of Allegheny Hellbenders in New York State” to aid in reintroduction efforts with hellbenders head-started from Buffalo Zoo. Awarded $1,000.

Tim Herman and Andrew Odum, Toledo Zoo: “Educational Materials for the Conservation of Guatemalan Amphibians.” Awarded $1,000.

Sean Putney, Kansas City Zoo: “Educational Video Highlighting the Wyoming toad and Collaborative Efforts for its Recovery.” Awarded $300.


Robert Hill, Atlanta Botanical Gardens: “Water Quality Monitoring to Better Assess Suitability of Captive Rearing Facilities and Recipient Sites for Head Started Carolina Gopher Frogs Rana [Lithobates] capito) in Georgia.” Awarded $1000.

Carmen Linares, Africam Safari: “Protecting the Large-Crested Toad (Incillus cristatus)”: booklet as a mean to Achieve in situ conservation. Awarded $1,000.


Paul Crump, Houston Zoo: “Houston Toad in situ Monitoring Surveys.” Awarded $1,000.

Brian Gratwicke, National Zoo: “Is chytridiomycosis affecting Appalachian salamanders?” Awarded $1,000.

Robert Hill, Atlanta Botanical Gardens: “Head Starting & Repatriation of Carolina Gopher Frogs (Rana [Lithobates] capito) on Protected Land in Southwestern Georgia.” Awarded $888.

Carlos Martinez Rivera, Philadelphia Zoo: “Conservation of critically endangered harlequin frogs, (Anura: Bufonidae: Atelopus) from the eastern slopes of the Ecuadorian Andes.” Awarded $1,000.


Jen Stabile, Central Florida Zoo: “Husbandry Development, Capacity Building for Eleuthrodactylids in Puerto Rico.” Awarded $500.

Ron Gagliardo, Atlanta Botanical Gardens: “Head starting the Gopher Frog (Rana capito): Conserving Georgia’s most threatened frog.” Awarded $940.

Terry Robison, Cleveland Metroparks Zoo: “Vernal Pool Creation/Enhancement and Wood Frog Repatriation Project.” Awarded $1,000.


Cindy Kreider, Erie Zoo: “Erie Zoo’s Amphibian Conservation Classroom.” Awarded $1,000.

Bob Johnson, Toronto Zoo: “Capacity Building in Mexico for Axolotl.” Awarded $1,000.


Diane Barber, Fort Worth Zoo: “Educational Outreach to Benefit the Puerto Rican Crested Toad.” Awarded $1,000.

Paul Crump, Houston Zoo: “Construction of El Valle Amphibian Conservation Center in Panama.” Awarded $1,000.